Enabling Your Waitlist & How it Works #
A waitlist can be used to capture additional registrations after the capacity you set for your event has been reached. If participants cancel their registration opening a spot in your event, you will have the ability to invite someone from the waitlist to fill that space.
To enable your waitlist follow these steps:
- From the registration page, navigate to “Event Setup”
- Click the first link “Edit Event”
- Look for the tabs under the banner area, and click “Capacity”
- Scroll to the bottom of the page to the waitlist settings.
- Click the ‘edit’ link next to the distance on which you would like to open a waitlist.
Enable waitlist when filled: Checking this box will enable the waitlist when capacity is reached.
Display waitlist icon: This enables the waitlist so that it can be viewed by participants.
Display applicants for all events in the same list: merges all waitlists into one.
View waitlist: Opens your waitlist to view for that distance.
You can also view your waitlist(s) by navigating to Registrations >> Dashboard and then you can click the hourglass icon:
Using Your Waitlist #
Your waitlisted registrants will appear in the order in which they registered.
- Order Id: Opens the order confirmation for that registrant.
- Remove: Removes the entrant from the list. The registrant will not receive a notification.
- Charge & Add: Immediately attempts a charge, if successful, the participant is added to the entrants list. (not recommended)
Send Invite #
To send an invitation, you will simply fill in your waitlist message:
Then click “send invite” next to the runner you would like to invite to register:
To send multiple invites at the same time, fill in your invite message, and select all participants that you intend to invite, and click the green “send invite(s)” button:
Email Settings #
You have the ability to customize the confirmation email message that the registrant receives when they register for the waitlist. To customize the message open event setup >> edit event >> and then click the “confirmation email” tab:
What does the runner see? #
Once you issue the invite, the runner will receive the following email:
When clicking the link they are redirected to this screen:
What happens when an invite is declined? #
The RDs receives the following notification:
If the registrant declines, they will see the following message immediately:
They will be removed from the waitlist and into a list of declined invitations:
They will appear as a removed participant when searched on the participant screen:
What if the runner declined the invite by mistake? #
You have the ability to add a runner back to the waitlist if they let you know they declined the invite by mistake. This can be done two ways:
Search for and open the participant record from the participant list, scroll to the bottom of the screen and click “Add Back”:
Then you can navigate back to your waitlist and send a new invitation.
You can also navigate to your waitlist, scroll to the ‘Declined Invitations’ list and click “Add Back”.
Then you will be able to send a new invite.
What happens when the runner confirms? #
The runner’s card is charged. If the payment is successful, they are added to the entrant list. They will also receive a confirmation email with the customized message added to the standard email confirmation (if anything was added.)
What if the payment fails? #
The runner will appear under a “Failed Transactions” list in your waitlist. They will receive a request to update their payment information. If they do not update the information or respond, you can remove them from the waitlist and issue an invitation to the next person waiting.